The 2017 GCT Field

YourNextMove GCT, Wildcard

GM Anish Giri

Anish Giri

4 Time Dutch Chess Champion

YNM GCT Wildcard

The Russian-born Dutch Grandmaster achieved the grandmaster title at the age of 14 years and 7 months. Giri is a four-time Dutch Chess Champion (2009, 2011, 2012, and 2015) and won the Corus Chess B Group in 2010. He has also represented the Netherlands at four Chess Olympiads, winning two individual bronze medals. In 2016, Giri participated in the Candidates tournament, drawing all of his games.

GM Baadur Jobava


2016 Olympiad Gold Medalist

YNM GCT Wildcard

Jobava is a Grandmaster from Georgia and won the Georgia Chess Championship on three different occasions (2003, 2007, 2012).  Jobava has won several tournaments including the Dubai Open in 2003, gold medal at the 2004 36th Chess Olympiad, Jobava won the Railyaway Hotel Cup and the prestigious Aeroflot Open (2006), Lake Sevan tournament (2011), 32nd Edoardo Crespi Trophy (2011), European Rapid Chess Championship (2011), 19th HZ Chess Tournament (2015).  He has also taken part in the Chess Olympiads of 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2014 and 2016.

GM Vladimir Kramnik

Fᴏʀᴍᴇʀ Wᴏʀʟᴅ Cʜᴀᴍᴘɪᴏɴ

YNM GCT Wildcard

The Russian Grandmaster was the Classical World Chess Champion from 2000 to 2006, and the undisputed World Chess Champion from 2006 to 2007. He has won three team gold medals and three individual medals at Chess Olympiads.

GM Vassily Ivanchuk

Vassily Ivanchuk

World Rapid Champion (Current)

YNM GCT Wildcard

Ivanchuk is a Ukrainian Grandmaster who has been ranked No. 2 in the world on three different occasions. Throughout the years, Ivanchuk has won Linares, Wijk aan Zee, Tal Memorial, Gibraltar Masters and M-Tel Masters titles, 2007 World Blitz Chess Championship, Melody Amber rapid in 1992 and shared the combined event in 2010. Last year, Ivanchuk won the World Rapid Chess Championship in Doha, Qatar by defeating the current World Champion Magnus Carlsen.

Paris GCT, Wildcard

GM Alexander Grischuk

Alexander Grischuk

Three time World Blitz Champion

Paris GCT Wildcard

Grishchuk is a Russian Grandmaster and was the Russian Champion in 2009. Grischuk has played in the Candidates tournament three times and is also a three time winning World Blitz Champion. In November 2014, Grishchuk crossed the elite 2800 ELO rating mark when he took clear first place with 5/7 points in the Tashir Chess Tournament in Memory of Tigran Petrosian. Most recently, Grischuk shared first place with Maxime Vachier-Lagrave and Shakhriyar Mamedyarov in the first event of the FIDE Grand Prix 2017 in February.

GM Shakhriyar Mamedyarov

Shakhriyar Mamedyarov

2013 World Rapid Chess Champion

Paris GCT Wildcard

Mamedyarov won the World Junior Championship in 2003 and 2005, becoming the only two-time champion of the event. Mamedyarov has also won both the Tal Memorial and Shamkir Chess tournaments twice, as well as qualifying for the FIDE Candidates Tournament twice (2011 and 2014). This year, Mamedyarov won for the second time Vugar Gashimov Memorial.

GM Veselin Topalov

Veselin Topalov

2005 World Champion

Paris GCT Wildcard

The Bulgarian No. 1 became the FIDE World Chess Champion by winning the FIDE World Chess Championship in 2005. He lost his title in the 2006 World Chess Championship match against Vladimir Kramnik and was also narrowly defeated by Vishy Anand in their match for the World Chess Championship title in 2010. Topalov has competed at nine Chess Olympiads (1994-2000, 2008-2016), winning in Linares, Corus, Dortmund, Stavanger and Pearl Spring tournaments. At his 1994 appearance, Topalov won best overall performance.

GM Etienne Bacrot

Etienne Bacrot

7 Time French Champion

Paris GCT Wildcard

Bacrot was the French champion from 1999-2003, winning the title first at age 16 making him the youngest French champion ever. In 2005, Bacrot became the first French Grandmaster to enter the top 10 chess players in the world. Bacrot qualified for the Candidates tournament in 2005 after finishing third in the FIDE World Cup. In 2011, he won the 2011 Poikovsky Karpov tournament ahead of Sergey Karjakin, Fabiano Caruana, Dimitry Jakovenko.

Sinquefield Cup, Wildcard

Peter Svidler

Seven-time Russian Champion

Svilder is a 7 time Russian Chess Champion (1994, 1995, 1997, 2003, 2008, 2011, 2013.)  He also has represented the Russian Olympiad team 10 times helping his team win the gold medal in his first five appearances.  By winning the 2011 Chess World Cup, he qualified for Candidates stage of the 2013 World Championship cycle.  In that event, Peter soundly defeated the eventual World Champion, Magnus Carlsen. Svilder is also world-renowned chess commentator.