The 2017 GCT Field

2017 Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz

Garry Kasparov

World Champion (1985-2000)

Garry Kasparov is a Russian Grandmaster who is coming out of retirement for the Saint Louis Rapid and Blitz tournament. Kasparov became the youngest ever undisputed World Chess Champion in 1985 at age 22 by defeating then-champion Anatoly Karpov. As World Champion, he is known for his aggressive attacking style. In 1996 and 1997, Kasparov played IBM supercomputer, Deep Blue, in a series of highly publicized matches. From 1986 until his retirement in 2005, Kasparov was ranked World No. 1 and is considered by many to be the greatest chess player in history.

Lenier Dominguez

4-time Cuban Chess Champion

Lenier Dominguez is a Cuban Grandmaster and was Cuban Chess Championship (2002, 2003, 2006, 2012). His best tournament result was Barcelona 2006, where he scored 8/9 and finished with a performance rating of 2932. On November 8, 2008 he won the World Blitz Championship 2008, held at Almaty in Kazakhstan. Then, in June 2013 he won the FIDE Grand Prix in Thessaloniki as a clear first in a field of twelve elite players.

Le Quang Liem

2013 World Blitz Champion

Le Quang Liem is a Vietnamese Grandmaster and competed for his nation in six Chess Olympiads. Quang Liem was the U14 World Youth Champion in 2005. He was also the 2013 World Blitz Champion. Quang Liem is currently the No. 1 ranked player in Vietnam.

David Navara

7-time Czech Chess Champion

David Navara is currently the highest rated Czech Grandmaster and has been the national champion 7-times. Navara also won the European Blitz Championship in 2014 and then achieved his highest Elo rating in May 2015.