Cup Chronicle

2017 Cup Chronicle Issue 9

The standing tradition of the Sinquefield Cup of no repeat winners continues as Maxime Vachier-Lagrave emerges as the winner of the 2017 tournament! Entering the round, the eventual winner was tied with Viswanathan Anand, and Levon Aronian with Magnus Carlsen and Sergey Karjakin just half a point behind the leaders. The day started off well for the Frenchman as Anand quickly drew against Welsey So, while Aronian was already suffering in Carlsen’s hands. Vachier-Lagrave did his part by converting his advantage against Ian Nepomniachtchi on the white side of the Najdorf. He was officially crowned the winner once Aronian accepted the inevitable and resigned. For his efforts, Vachier-Lagrave collected $75,000 and 13 Grand Chess Tour points. He is now only three tour points behind Carlsen in the overall standings.


View All News
GM Gukesh D & GM Viswanathan Anand
The best have history here.View 2024 Tour

Welcome to Grand Chess Tour!

Please choose your language: