2017 London Chess Classic

London, EnglandUnited Kingdom

view venue

2017 London Chess Classic
2017 London Chess Classic

Last Leg in London

The London Chess Classic was the final leg of the 2017 Grand Chess Tour. Apart from the Sinquefield Cup, the London Classic was the only other classical event in the 2017 GCT and boasted a $300,000 prize fund. Since 2009, the London Chess Classic has been dominated by World Champion Magnus Carlsen, winning four of the eight editions. Former World Champions Vishy Anand and Vladimir Kramnik and American super-GMs Hikaru Nakamura and Wesley So each won the London Classic once.

Fans enjoyed watching the ten participants compete for the London Classic prize over nine exciting rounds. In a dramatic final day, Fabiano Caruana defeated Ian Nepomniachtchi in the second blitz game of the playoffs to win the 2017 London Chess Classic. This was the first 2017 Grand Chess Tour tournament victory for the American. The overall winner of the 2017 Grand Chess Tour was none other than World Champion Magnus Carlsen, who won a clutch game with black pieces against Levon Aronian.

10 Player Classical Round Robin

A nine-round tournament with one round per day. Each player faces off against every other competitor throughout the tournament. Games are played at classical time controls and may last up to 6 hours each.

Tournament Prize Fund

Current Champion

2017 Tournament Winner

Inside the Tournament

GM Gukesh D & GM Viswanathan Anand
The best have history here.View 2024 Tour

Welcome to Grand Chess Tour!

Please choose your language: