London Chess Classic

London Chess Classic Logo

The London Chess Classic is the final leg of the Grand Chess Tour. Apart from the Sinquefield Cup, the London Classic is the only other classical event in the GCT and also carries a $300,000 prize fund. Wesley So's admirable performance in the 2016 edition earned him top honors and a $300,000 year from the GCT. He will certainly be looking to repeat his performance again this year.

Since 2009, the London Chess Classic has been dominated by World Champion Magnus Carlsen, winning four of the eight editions. Former World Champions Vishy Anand and Vladimir Kramnik and American super-GMs Hikaru Nakamura and Wesley So each won once.

DATES December 1 - December 11, 2017
LOCATION Olympia Conference Center
FORMAT 10-Player Round Robin
PRIZE FUND $300,000
COMMENTATORS Learn about our live broadcast and audience commentators.
SPECTATORS Buy tickets here! 


London Chess Classic Prize Fund

1st $75,000 6th $20,000
2nd $50,000 7th $15,000
3rd $40,000 8th $15,000
4th $30,000 9th $15,000
5th $25,000 10th $15,000
Total Prize Fund $300,000

Grand Chess Tour Merchandise  

Grand Chess Tour official merchandise available through Q Boutique. Shop now > 


Grand Chess Tour: Art of Chess 2017

The Grand Chess Tour will be complemented this year by a traveling exhibition of chess-related art and artifacts from the Dr. Jeanne and Rex Sinquefield Collection collection and the permanent collection of the World Chess Hall of Fame. Spectators can view the exhibit December 3-December 11 at the Olympia Conference Center.  


Live Spectator Accommodations

Information on accommodations for the London Chess Classic can be found here >